Section of Nuclear Medicine of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) and European Board of Nuclear Medicine (EBNM)

The European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) has existed for more than 50 years and is the political representative organisation for medical specialists in the European Union and associated countries. UEMS defined the basic principles in the field of training of European medical specialists to obtain a comparably high level of knowledge to allow free movement of specialists between member countries. Specialist Sections for each of the main disciplines practiced in the member states were created to coordinate and harmonise the specialist training and elaborate the criteria for the recognition of medical specialists. With successive enlargements of the European Union, the number of Specialist Sections gradually increased to 34. The UEMS created European “Boards”, working groups of the Specialist Sections, to guarantee optimal care by bringing the training of medical specialists to the highest possible level in the specialty concerned.

UEMS Monospecialist Section of Nuclear Medicine

Nuclear Medicine has been an independent medical specialty since 1988. The Section of Nuclear Medicine was constituted in 1990 and the European Board of Nuclear Medicine (EBNM) was created in 1993 with the main objective to guaranteeing the highest standards in the field of nuclear medicine. In 2003, the UEMS Section and European Board of Nuclear Medicine (UEMS/EBNM) merged in order to unify and facilitate activities. The current organisation is as shown below:

UEMS Structure


1990 – 1993
1994 – 1997
1998 – 1999
2000 – 2003
2004 – 2007

Desmond Croft, UK
Bernard Bok, FR
Wolfgang Becker, DE
Alberto Cuocolo, IT
Angelika Bischof Delaloye, CH

2008 – 2009
2010 – 2011
2012 – 2015
2016 – 2018
2019 – 2026

Thomas Nunan, UK
Drazen Huic, HR
Durval Costa, PT
Lorenzo Maffioli, IT
Siroos Mirzaei, AT