Section of Nuclear Medicine of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) and European Board of Nuclear Medicine (EBNM)

The European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS) ( has existed for more than 50 years and is the political representative organisation for medical specialists in the European Union and associated countries. UEMS defined the basic principles in the field of training of European medical specialists to obtain a comparably high level of knowledge to allow free movement of specialists between member countries. Specialist Sections for each of the main disciplines practiced in the member states were created to coordinate and harmonise the specialist training and elaborate the criteria for the recognition of medical specialists. With successive enlargements of the European Union, the number of Specialist Sections gradually increased to 34. The UEMS created European "Boards", working groups of the Specialist Sections, to guarantee optimal care by bringing the training of medical specialists to the highest possible level in the specialty concerned.

UEMS Monospecialist Section of Nuclear Medicine

Nuclear Medicine has been an independent medical specialty since 1988. The Section of Nuclear Medicine was constituted in 1990 and the European Board of Nuclear Medicine (EBNM) was created in 1993 with the main objective to guaranteeing the highest standards in the field of nuclear medicine. In 2003, the UEMS Section and European Board of Nuclear Medicine (UEMS/EBNM) merged in order to unify and facilitate activities. The current organisation is as shown below:

UEMS Structure

UEMS/EBNM Presidents

1990 - 1993 Desmond Croft, UK
1994 - 1997 Bernard Bok, FR
1998 - 1999 Wolfgang Becker, DE
2000 - 2003 Alberto Cuocolo, IT
2004 - 2007 Angelika Bischof Delaloye, CH
2008 - 2009 Thomas Nunan, UK
2010 - 2011 Drazen Huic, HR
2012 - 2015 Durval Costa, PT
2016 - 2018 Lorenzo Maffioli, IT
2019 - 2022 Siroos Mirzaei, AT